The wait is over! Our first album in 10 years is available everywhere today!

Purchase CD

Listen on Spotify

Listen on Apple Music

Listen on YouTube



Since forming in Iowa City in 2007, The Uniphonics toured the United States, performed at notable music festivals, and shared bills with platinum selling artists. They released 2 albums: Truth Be Told (2009) and Crawl (2010.) “Crawl” featured collaborations with internationally known artists, including Grammy Award winning jazz musician Robin Eubanks, Twin Cities vocal phenom Heatbox, and Iowa guitar legend Dennis “Daddy-O” McMurrin. 

The Uniphonics are pleased to announce the release of their 3rd album. The self titled, full length release features 12 songs that draw from hip hop, funk, soul, jazz, reggae, and latin. They’ve been described as “taking the jam-band approach to hip hop,” with virtuosic live band instrumentation and improvisation. The song “Funky Farm” features their old friend, Robin Eubanks. 

Several years ago, The Uniphonics added 2 additional vocalists: Bethann Heidgerken and Nassor Cooper. Both are featured prominently throughout the new record, including the 3 upcoming singles: “My Boys,” “One Way to Know,” and “By Myself.”


The Uniphonics are:

Forrest Heusinkveld (of Diplomats of Solid Sound, the Soul Practitioners): Drums, Percussion, Vocals

Bethann Heidgerken (of Candymakers, BEEs): Vocals

Craig Heidgerken (of The Lowdown, The Channel Cats, BEEs): Guitar

Derek Thorn (aka MC Animosity): Vocals

Nassor Cooper: Vocals

Ben Pierce: Saxophone

Ryan Casteel: Bass

Join our mailing list for the latest Uniphonics news!